Upcoming Events

no events match your query!

New Events

no events posted in last week

Blog Feeds

The Saker
A bird's eye view of the vineyard

offsite link The Sheep Syndrome Fri Jan 15, 2021 09:46 | amarynth
by Peter Koenig for the Saker Blog Today and during the last few days new ?measures? ? restrictions of freedom imposed by governments for reasons of ?public health security?, i.

offsite link US post-Capitol: Armed, hysterical, depressed & yet out for blood Fri Jan 15, 2021 00:19 | amarynth
by Ramin Mazaheri (@RaminMazaheri2) for the Saker Blog The FBI says armed protests are being planned in all 50 states from January 16 until Joe Biden?s inauguration day on January

offsite link On Democracy Fri Jan 15, 2021 00:05 | amarynth
by Sushi for the Saker Blog I suspect most people, and the majority of Trumpists, would agree Trump is an imperfect political vehicle and that Trumpism, as political movement, is

offsite link Israel & United States Unite Efforts In Large-Scale Strikes On Iranian Infrastructure In Syria Thu Jan 14, 2021 17:54 | amarynth
South Front The first two weeks of 2021 have, so far, been marked by an incredible increase in Israeli activity in the skies over Syria. The most intense strike took

offsite link I am taking a few days off, until Monday only :-) Wed Jan 13, 2021 21:46 | The Saker
Dear friends Today I underwent a small medical procedure, all went well, but I need a few days to rest.  I will be at home, and I will work on

The Saker >>

Public Inquiry
Interested in maladministration. Estd. 2005

offsite link Mainstream media: Failing to speak truth to power

offsite link David Quinn’s selective tolerance Anthony

offsite link A Woulfe in judges clothing Anthony

offsite link Sarah McInerney and political impartiality Anthony

offsite link Did RTE journalists collude against Sinn Fein? Anthony

Public Inquiry >>

Human Rights in Ireland
A Blog About Human Rights

offsite link Right to Water Mon Aug 03, 2020 19:13 | Human Rights

offsite link Human Rights Fri Mar 20, 2020 16:33 | Human Rights

offsite link Turkish President Calls On Greece To Comply With Human Rights on Syrian Refugee Issues Wed Mar 04, 2020 17:58 | Human Rights

offsite link US Holds China To Account For Human Rights Violations Sun Oct 13, 2019 19:12 | Human Rights

offsite link UN Human Rights Council Should Address Human Rights Crisis in Cambodia Sat Aug 31, 2019 13:41 | Human Rights

Human Rights in Ireland >>

Spirit of Contradiction

offsite link The Party and the Ballot Box Sun Jul 14, 2019 22:24 | Gavin Mendel-Gleason

offsite link On The Decline and Fall of The American Empire and Socialism Sat Jan 26, 2019 01:52 | S. Duncan

offsite link What is Dogmatism and Why Does It Matter? Wed Mar 21, 2018 08:10 | Sylvia Smith

offsite link The Case of Comrade Dallas Mon Mar 19, 2018 19:44 | Sylvia Smith

offsite link Review: Do Religions Evolve? Mon Aug 14, 2017 19:54 | Dara McHugh

Spirit of Contradiction >>

Your Health Passport to Tyranny
international / rights, freedoms and repression / opinion/analysis Sunday January 10, 2021 21:55 by 1 of indy   image 2 images
There is no doubt about it. China with over 1 billion people is a giant single nation police state. Even before the arrival of 2020 china had it's great digital firewall of China in place which carefully controlled the flow of information. In recent years, the level of digital surveillance via cameras backed by armies of watchers and more recently AI software has rapidly moved the totalitarian system towards greater automation such that their whole social interaction is moving towards a form of social credits which allow what you can do based on how you behaviour and of course whether you are fully compliant with government diktats. There has been some criticism that it is not really like that, but the only response is to say not till now.

However, as reported on RT.com today ( https://www.rt.com/news/512079-beijing-coronavirus-qr-code/ ), China has now introduced health "QR" color coded system and these now have to be used if you want to take a taxi, take a train, fly, go to a restaurants or shopping mall. This is pretty much identical to the system proposed here in Ireland called the Health Passport Europe and promoted and described at https://www.healthpassportireland.ie/ and is the same and compatible with all the other health passports systems proposed EU wide.

If we succumb to this tyranny then life as we know it will be over. The dynamics of totalitarianism is that it never stops and is never content with what it has and further rules and control will get added. We have entered a bureaucrats dream world where no matter how ridiculous the rule or restriction, it gets implemented and every closet authoritarian in officialdom has been given free reign.

In this article it is show that the developments of the last few days show this trend is accelerating and the door is slamming shut behind us. read full story / add a comment
national / rights, freedoms and repression / opinion/analysis Sunday January 03, 2021 17:48 by 1 of indy   video 1 video file
The Healthy Debate Ep.7 - The impact of lockdowns on sport

Tonight we’ll discuss the impact lockdowns have had on sport - at international, national and grassroots level. Our guests are Barry Murray sports nutritionist and Parkrun Event Director, Frank Greally ex-editor of the Irish Runner and David McGill from Badminton Ireland on the challenges of organising an indoor sport in lockdown. read full story / add a comment
national / irish social forum / opinion/analysis Tuesday December 22, 2020 23:26 by Irish Inquiry   video 1 video file
On this episode of The Healthy Debate we are chatting to Dr Marcus de Brun @indepdubnrth about the Covid-19 situation and the elderly. We have Maeve Murran and Suzie Buckley joining us who both have close relatives in nursing homes and will share their stories. @IrishInquiry read full story / add a comment
national / irish social forum / opinion/analysis Tuesday December 22, 2020 22:36 by Irish Inquiry   video 2 video files
The fourth episode of the Healthy Debate on the Lay of the Law aired a few weeks back on Dec 1st and the fifth episode on Dec 8th

This show looks at one of the most fundamental aspects of life, our human and civil rights. We are joined by barrister and junior council, Martin Byrne, and civil rights lawyer, Sabrina Sullivan, to talk about the recently renewed Health Act, and what this means for us.

How does the recently renewed Health Act impact our human and civil rights?

In Episode 5 Dr. Walter Weber, Specialist in Internal Medicine from Germany, discussing his views on PCR testing with Prof. Bill Tormey, the Editor-in-Chief of The Irish Medical Journal. read full story / add a comment
international / health / disability issues / opinion/analysis Wednesday December 09, 2020 22:04 by Joe Terry
Ireland’s health care languishes in the doldrums. read full story / add a comment
corona-covid-old_people_shadow.jpg
international / rights, freedoms and repression / opinion/analysis Tuesday November 03, 2020 22:37 by Peter Koenig   image 1 image   video 1 video file

We, The People, are concerned about worldwide media reporting about covid.

Are you, Western Media Moguls, realizing that there is hardly anything else on your programs other than covid? – Covid is at the center of everything. Covid discussions appear every hour on the hour, in the news and in between the news.

Covid reporting is non-stop alarming and fearmongering.

read full story / add a comment
international / sci-tech / opinion/analysis Tuesday November 03, 2020 21:43 by Sean Crudden
I do not know much about it. But I think science policy nationally and internationally is a delicate balance. It's difficult to form a picture of who is doing research, what are their objectives, what are the rewards. My impression is that science is mostly controlled by commercial interests. What is invented mostly is what can sell. You have copyright and secrecy backed up by law to preserve the pitch for profit. It is easy to see the sense in this because it provides an incentive for scientists and their employers to spend time and money on research.

But there is also a negative aspect to this way of doing things. Manufacturers are not wholly induced to innovate. They might see more profit from concentrating on already discovered products. Pharmaceuticals are, perhaps, an example of this. Instead of looking for new and improved drugs, they may see more profit from continuing to produce older drugs even if they are less than perfect with lots of unwanted effects. read full story / add a comment
international / politics / elections / opinion/analysis Tuesday October 27, 2020 21:33 by Peter Koenig
Brussels (EU and European NATO Headquarters) – On 21 October 2020, the German Press Agency (dpa) reports that Germany pledges NATO soldiers for possible Covid-19 operations: “German soldiers could be sent on crisis missions to other NATO and partner countries during the second wave of the Corona pandemic. As a spokesman for the Ministry of Defense confirmed, the German government has promised NATO support for its “Allied Hand” emergency plan. According to this plan, medical personnel, pioneers and experts from the force would be made available for foreign missions to counter nuclear, biological or chemical hazards as required. The contingency plan is to be activated, for example, if a collapse of the health care system is imminent in allied or NATO partner countries due to very high infection rates and the affected state asks for support.” read full story / add a comment
national / rights, freedoms and repression / opinion/analysis Wednesday September 30, 2020 21:58 by Sean Crudden
The current debacle in education over Leaving Cert results is a stark example of lack of thought about the fundamentals of human rights. Should high marks in an exam entitle one child to a place in some coveted university course while denying it to another child who has lower marks. Put another way does high intelligence give a student more entitlements. read full story / add a comment
international / anti-capitalism / opinion/analysis Thursday September 10, 2020 06:55 by Jason Phelan
Antifa and Black Lives Matter are now forever interconnected with the NBL, the NFL, NASCAR, ESPN, Goodyear, Gillette, A&E, CBS, Netflix, BBC, CNN, Buzz feed, Vice, Yahoo. This is a condensed list of some of the bigger players. Counter culture indeed. read full story / add a comment
cork / health / disability issues / opinion/analysis Monday September 07, 2020 01:50 by Michael Donahue Steinberg
During this Labor Day weekend here the US, we're number 1 in Covid deaths and have millions out of work consequently, Here in San Francisco, as fires rage and smoke overwhelms, we're supposed to stay inside with our windows shut and have no fun. In light of all this, I thought I'd share Cork-born labor heroine Mother Jones' experience of surviving the epidemic of her day. read full story / add a comment
international / rights, freedoms and repression / opinion/analysis Sunday August 30, 2020 20:59 by Anthony Ravlich
In my view, distrust of the UN is the reason America opposed economic, social, and cultural rights as promoted by Bernie Sanders and as included in ethical human rights. read full story / add a comment
Satire on Romantic Suicide (1839) by Leonardo Alenza y Nieto (1807–1845)
international / arts and media / opinion/analysis Wednesday July 29, 2020 19:17 by Caoimhghin Ó Croidheáin   image 1 image
“We are slipping back from the age of reason into the mire of mystery, into a world of gods and devils, ghouls and angels. The difference this time is that we have chosen ignorance over knowledge, vapidity over insight, folly over realism. Consequently, we only have ourselves to blame when the rich and powerful take advantage of us.” – Andrew Davenport

Introduction

Why do we need to talk about Romanticism? What is Romanticism? And how does it affect us in the 21st century? The fact is that we are so immersed in Romanticism now that we cannot see the proverbial wood for the haunted-looking trees. Romanticism has so saturated our culture that we need to stand back and remind ourselves what it is, and examine how it has seeped into our thinking processes to the extent that we are not even aware of its presence anymore. Or why this is a problem. The Romanticist influence of intense emotion makes up a large part of modern culture, for example, in much pop music, cinema, TV and literature, e.g. genres such as Superheroes, Fantasy, Horror, Magical realism, Saga, Westerns. I will look at the origins of Romanticism, and its negative influence on culture and politics. I will show how Enlightenment ideas originally emerged in opposition to an absolute monarchy and the fixed dogmas of the Church and led to the formation of a working class ideology and culture of resistance. read full story / add a comment
international / environment / opinion/analysis Sunday July 12, 2020 16:47 by lefty   text 5 comments (last - saturday july 18, 2020 19:21)
Michael Moore's important new film 'Planet of Humans' has given shape to suspicions that I and many others have had about the burgeoning green movement and what is driving it's sudden popularity across the spectrum, despite all the years "in the wilderness" when old school green activists were pariahs.
Of course It's the usual reason as we suspected: i.e. corporate PROFIT!
WATCH THIS MOVIE!! read full story / add a comment
international / politics / elections / opinion/analysis Thursday July 02, 2020 12:40 by Joe Terry
Comparing similarities of the Political Governance in Ireland to that of China.
read full story / add a comment
international / rights, freedoms and repression / opinion/analysis Monday June 29, 2020 22:26 by 1 of indy   text 1 comment (last - sunday july 12, 2020 16:32)
Finally there is someone out there and certainly not from the mainstream media who is calling bullshit on the whole Covid nonsense. In this opinion piece by John Church from the hectordrummond blog, many will nod their head in agreement. He really cuts through the crap.

I have had enough. After nearly 3 months of this, I am going to call it for what it is: TOTAL AND UTTER NONSENSE. I cannot watch any news programme anymore, given the 24/7 monochromal pseudo-emotion that is all we ever see. read full story / add a comment
King George II equestrian monument
national / history and heritage / opinion/analysis Thursday June 18, 2020 17:19 by Caoimhghin Ó Croidheáin   image 5 images
"Symbols are what unite and divide people. Symbols give us our identity, our self-image,our way of explaining ourselves to others. Symbols in turn determine the kinds of stories we tell; and the stories we tell determine the kind of history we make and remake."
Mary Robinson, Inauguration speech as President of Ireland, December 3, 1990

Introduction

On the night of the 8 March 1966 a massive explosion was heard in the centre of Dublin and Nelson's Pillar came crashing to the ground in hundreds of tons of rubble. No one was hurt and a stump was all that could be seen of the 157 year old monument. It was not the first time that monuments had been attacked in Ireland and certainly not the last, at least figuratively, with a series of later monuments accruing many derogatory nicknames from the Dublin people.

The recent spate of attacks on monuments in the US and the Uk has opened up the debate on the cultural issues they provoke, ranging from those who can't believe the attacks hadn't happened sooner to those who see their destruction as mob vandalism.
read full story / add a comment
national / worker & community struggles and protests / opinion/analysis Monday June 15, 2020 23:47 by 1 of indy
Today we are reproducing a press release from the Socialist Party on Covid-19 with our own comments added because the Left in general along with all the opposition parties has completely swallowed the Covid-19 is a deadly pandemic narrative hook, line and sinker. On another story soon, we will address the why. In the meantime from their perspective protecting workers rights and health is the natural thing to do but they seem confused by the sudden concern by the government for people. We offer a different perspective that explains things in a more consistent way,
read full story / add a comment
international / rights, freedoms and repression / opinion/analysis Wednesday May 13, 2020 09:28 by Anthony Ravlich
If my book was far less suppressed the UN may take a more positive view of Taiwan's wish to gain formal recognition in the World Health Organization. The UN seems to be following China's 'One-China policy' by excluding Taiwan. read full story / add a comment
international / history and heritage / opinion/analysis Monday May 11, 2020 22:33 by Kollektiv.26 - Autonomous Group Ulm
May 8th is the day of liberation for many of those suffering Nazi persecution. What is still missing today is denazification, coming to terms with the crimes, a culture of remembrance. read full story / add a comment
This page can be viewed in
English Gaeilge
UK Indymedia Features

Tue May 02, 2017 01:55 UK Indymedia Features

offsite link UK Indymedia : 1999 - 2016 Fri Apr 28, 2017 19:19 | IMC UK | en

offsite link Build gardens not prisons Tue Sep 08, 2015 17:53 | anon | en

offsite link Maximus: Same Circus, Different Clowns Thu Mar 05, 2015 21:42 | solidarity collective | en

offsite link Police serve Bytemark with production order for Bristol Indymedia information Mon Sep 01, 2014 19:58 | UK Indymedia | en

offsite link Police action against Bristol Indymedia Thu Aug 28, 2014 17:27 | UK Indymedia | en

UK Indymedia Features >>

IMC network

© 2001-2021 Independent Media Centre Ireland. Unless otherwise stated by the author, all content is free for non-commercial reuse, reprint, and rebroadcast, on the net and elsewhere. Opinions are those of the contributors and are not necessarily endorsed by Independent Media Centre Ireland. Disclaimer | Privacy